The Department of Sociology was established by the University of Delhi in 1959 as a constituent of the Delhi School of Economics.  To begin with, the Department trained students for two courses:  M.A. and Ph.D.  In 1966 a two-year course for the M.Litt. degree was introduced.  This has been replaced since 1976 by an M.Phil. degree course of a year’s duration.  In 1968, the Department was recognised as a Centre of Advanced Study (CAS) in Sociology by the University Grants Commission (UGC). The department receives a renewable five-year grant from the UGC under the CAS scheme. The UGC also provided a five-year grant under its ASHISS (Assistance for Strengthening of the Infrastructure of the Humanities and Social Sciences) program for departmental infrastructure as well as research on State and Society. At present the strength of the faculty includes eight Professors, ten Readers, one Lecturer, and two Research Associates.  In addition, there are eleven members in the office staff.

Copyright © 2019 Department of Sociology, University of Delhi, All Rights Reserved.